Jupiter Symphony Logo
It's Out of This World

Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players was created in January 2002 as A Living Tribute to Jens Nygaard, conductor extraordinaire of the orchestra, Jupiter Symphony. New York Times critic Anthony Tommasini gave his consent, calling it “a fitting series.” Adam Baer of the New York Sun proclaimed it “one of the city’s cultural jewels.”

Dedicated to acknowledge and perpetuate the legacy of Maestro Nygaard—founder of the Jupiter Symphony who died in September 2001—the chamber music group celebrates a legacy that denotes musical excellence, gives performance opportunities to outstanding musicians, and imparts a love of and enthusiasm for music through interesting and unusual programs of pieces in the standard repertoire, and especially works by lesser known composers that deserve to be heard.

One may ask, “Why the name Jupiter?” When Jens Nygaard named his orchestra Jupiter, he had the beautiful, gaseous planet in mind—unattainable but worth the effort, like reaching musical perfection. Many, indeed, were privileged and fortunate to hear his music-making that was truly Out Of This World. The Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players seeks to attain that stellar quality.

Currently, Jupiter’s season comprises forty concerts—each of its thoughtfully-wrought programs is performed twice on twenty Mondays from September through May at the Good Shepherd Presbyterian Church in New York City. In addition, there is a summer series of three concerts in June, July, and August. Concerts within and beyond metropolitan New York are also performed throughout the year in various venues. In the words of one of its concertgoers, Jupiter brings “wit, humor, beauty, originality and imagination” to the New York musical community. “The pleasure is all mine!”

Find out more about the Jupiter Players and our Guest Artists for this season.
Read more about our founder, Jens Nygaard.

Home Calendar Tickets About Us Guest Artists
Jupiter Players Founder Tributes Support Thanks Reviews Media

view our frames version

Copyright © 1999-2022 Jupiter Symphony. All rights reserved.